Thought Conditioner #33

Those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. Isaiah 40:31, NIV

This beautiful sentence describes the greatest experience that can ever happen to you. It is called spiritual experience. You get it by completely surrendering yourself to God, and experiencing His presence. Then the heavy weights of your life drop away, and you are lifted to eagle-like levels of freedom and power.

But no one can permanently live in such exalted emotional heights. Nevertheless, the power stays with you so that you can move through life with a speed and strength you never had before; you can “run and not be weary.” Then even when you get up against day-by-day situations that used to be difficult and monotonous, this power is so great that it keeps you going without depletion of strength. Spiritual experience begins by lifting you to new high levels, after which it helps you to keep going with continuous power.

 

~ ~ Norman Vincent Peale

I love this verse and reading this with Peale’s comments has given me much encouragement. So often I do feel weary I realize I’ve forgotten to rely on God’s strength. My day-to-day will not exhaust me so long as I remain on the vine, connected to Jesus, letting him lead the way. I can feel myself breathing easier just reading these words.

Reflect: How does Peale’s spiritual experience transfer to your own life?

2 responses to “Thought Conditioner #33

  1. Ana, Great words. I will remember them!

What do you think?

