Thought Conditioner #28

Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you. Matthew 5:44, KJV

Make a list of all the people who have hurt and mistreated you or whom you do not like. Then pray for each by name and sincerely practice forgiving each one. Ask the Lord to bless them. Tell the Lord that you want to mean this. Repel the thought that after all you are “justified” in your resentment.

Then speak kindly about these persons to others. Go out of your way to help them. This will, in time, break down many barriers, but even if it shouldn’t, the effect upon you will be amazing. It will clear the channel through which spiritual power flows into you.

 ~ ~ Norman Vincent Peale

 

There is freedom in forgiveness. God’s peace won’t enter a bitter, vengeful heart. So many physical ills are alleviated by forgiveness. Holding on to hurt eats away at our bones, tissues and our very soul. If you harbor unforgiveness let it go. Do as the Proverbs say, laugh, joy is healing to the bones. It’s hard to remain unforgiving when you’re full of God’s joy.

If you harbor unforgivenss let it go and pray “Lord, forgive me as I forgive those who have hurt me. Just as you forgive my transgressions I forgive those who have transgressed against me.”

Reflect:
Step one – who do you need to forgive.
Step two: Forgive. Forgive repeatedly until it’s no longer an issue with you.

2 responses to “Thought Conditioner #28

  1. So very true and so very hard for so many!

    • I’ve been so blessed with grace that I’ve easily forgiven. But I’ve seen so many friends and family full of bitterness because they just can’t let it go.

      However, there is one person we all need to forgive – ourselves. That’s been more of a problem for me than forgiving others. Praise Jesus for healing me of this. I pray I never revert.

      thanks for commenting.

What do you think?

