Thought Conditioner #27

If any man thirst, let him come unto Me and drink. John 7:37, KJV

Every now and then, deep unsatisfied longings well up within us. We may seem to have everything our hearts desire and ought to be perfectly satisfied. But still these vague dissatisfactions diminish our happiness.

 When you notice such feelings, try saying this verse a few times. As you do so, try to imagine how Jesus looked when He said these words: the kindness, the understanding, the peace on His face. Try picturing yourself as receiving from Him a drink of cold water—symbolic of the water of life that completely satisfies thirst so that one never thirsts again. Affirm that you receive from Him the ultimate in soul satisfaction. A deep inner peace will gradually grow upon you.

~ ~ Norman Vincent Peale

 

So many times since I left my life on the road, I’ve felt dissatisfied with my life. It’s hard to beat the freedom you feel living the road-trip lifestyle. Once I taught college. Now I homeschool a preschooler. Once I had enough money to take care of my car and my needs, now many of those needs must wait and I’ve been waiting over four years for a car. Once I traveled cross-country having adventure after adventure. Now a trip to Wal-Mart every few months is a treat.

I have been called to serve my family, my grandson, and my Lord through my blog. I really do have a blessed life, but there are times I wish there was more, especially travel, silence and solitude. I remind myself what I’ve been given is so much greater than what I’ve lost. Once I had the freedom of a life live on the open road. But now there’s nothing on this earth that could tear me away from this life. I’m so grateful God has entrusted me with caring for my family, for training Kai to be a man after His heart. When thoughts of dissatisfaction pop up I dwell on those words, to seek the one who gives real satisfaction. Jesus, fill my soul today with your water of peace.

Reflect: Are there any areas in your life that succumb to dissatisfaction? How do you deal with this?

What do you think?

