Share Your World – 2015 Week #34

Each Monday Cee Neuner of Cee’s Photography asks four questions as a way for us to get to know each other. I hope you enjoy sharing my world.

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so?

This is a tough one, it depends on the grade/age and subject. When I was younger I didn’t do well in reading or math. I was in special ed thru 11th grade for being reading challenged. Fifteen years later I learned it was a visual problem. At 30 I got new glasses and learned how to read well. It took many years but well worth the effort

I always did well in any subject that require writing or creative projects. And social sciences were my best subject at all ages. I did get getter at math too possible with age and experience using numbers.

What is your favorite animal?

all of them. I’d love to have a farm, that is as long as I didn’t have to get up before 10 am

If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts?

I’ve warn glasses since I was a freshman in college. Only for reading then now I am blind without them. Even with them I will never see 20/20 close up. This is sad because now I love reading. I’m so thankful for large print books and zoom text.

I have lazy eyes (both), which means I never know which one I’m looking thru unless I really concentrate, it also means I may not be looking at you when I talk to you. It makes driving difficult and night driving impossible. This could have been corrected when I was younger. It wasn’t  so now the only option is very expensive surgery. While glasses only help slightly, contacts are not an option. I tried them a few years ago. Since I have trouble controlling which eye I’m looking out of things kept jumping out at me. Very scary, especially when driving.

List:  Name at least five television shows (past or present) you enjoyed?

Present: Grimm #1; the rest in no particular order: Walking Dead, Once Upon a time, Madam Secretary and Sleepy Hollow

Past: Stargate (all 3); Star Trek (all 4); Battlestar Galactica (all time fav tied with Grimm)

Kid: Batman, Lost in space, Partridge Family, Mash, Saturday Night Live

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m thankful for getting caught up and I look forward to continuing to get caught up and start blogging regularly again.

 

shareworld

9 responses to “Share Your World – 2015 Week #34

  1. School was easy but not true for me. It was as if you were labeled “smart” in kindergarten and doomed to be “smart” for the rest of schooling even if you struggled with math or science like I did. Ana, you are a life-long learner – me too – love it ❤

    • I understand about those labels. I focused with only one of my issues with education (not learning). I started school in the south, excelled rapidly. At the end of second grade my family moved back home to Mass. The teacher told my mom, where I could here, that southern schools were behind so I’d be in the lowest level. It took 3 years and a couple of very influential teachers to get me out. But I did remain in spec ed just for reading.

      My daughters had troubling experiences. One learned to read very early in Kindergarten but boredom and some bad school experiences she lost all interest in school which continues today.

      Her twin sister (I hope NEVER reads this, I’ve never told her) was slower so she was tested. The results showed she had an IQ of 70 and she was unlikely to improve much.

      I was devastated. In second grade they wanted to hold her back, being a twin I couldn’t do that to her so I fought. They put her in a special reading class and speech class. By the end of the year she was reading at the appropriate level. She went on to excel in school taking honors and AP classes and wore the gold cords of the National Honors Society at graduation. She excelled in college as well.

      I won’t get into the college student who didn’t know where Europe was.

      I love education but I don’t trust the current educational system. I learn and fight for alternate learning experiences.

      I bet you didn’t expect me to write a book, I guess that shows my passion 🙂

      • You privilege me with you comment, Ana! I’m not surprised at all by your passion ❤ You are right on and I, too, am happy to "learn and fight for alternate learning experiences" so that each person can get their needs met, when they need them met, and in a way that is fitting for them! Maybe you should write a book 😀

  2. In school, I loved English but got horribly confused by math. In first grade, I couldn’t understand why all of the numbers were borrowing from each other and then carrying things around. Why? That’s rather tiresome. Why didn’t they just leave things alone? Wasn’t it Benjamin Franklin that said–‘Neither a borrower or lender be?’ Good advice. Someone should tell the numbers.
    I got really upset the day the teacher said one quarter was worth 25 cents, and then a few hours later said that “a quarter after” on the clock was 15 minutes. Make up your mind! Is a quarter 15 or 25? The teacher told my mom that I wasn’t listening, but the problem was that I was listening–very literally.
    I had perfect vision–20/15. But I really wanted to wear glasses, because I thought they would make me look smarter and then, by default, I would be smarter. Now I have to wear glasses to read, so I am practically Einstein.
    I haven’t changed much over the years. I am still terrible in math. An English teacher once told me that she wasn’t surprised that I found numbers difficult. “You are one of most non-linear thinker I have ever taught, and this makes for a great creative writer. However, that kind of mind generally doesn’t like being confined by linear numbers.”
    So good. I continue on with my life, wandering about like a kite in a strong wind.

    • Such a funny story. Thanks for sharing. It took me a long time to understand the 25/15 problem too. And with my glasses…just call me Stephen hawking.

      Thanks again for sharing a laugh

  3. wonderful questions
    and answers!
    i’ll have to
    think about these 🙂

  4. Thanks so much for sharing. We are close on our tv shows. Another one I forget was Little House on the Prairie. 😀

  5. Reblogged this on Kev's Great Indie Authors and commented:
    I found these questions rather interesting! Welcome to Kev’s Rollover Sunday, Ana!

What do you think?

