Thought Conditioner #24

What I feared has come upon me; what I dreaded has happened to me. Job 3:25, NIV

This thought conditioner states a very serious warning. If over a long period of time, a person habitually fears something, there is a tendency for that fear to become a reality.

For example, if you fear that you are going to fail, and you constantly entertain thoughts of failure, you will create a mental condition that is propitious to failure. Creative, positive, success factors are repelled by your mind because your mind is filled with defeat attitudes.

On the contrary, if you hold the faith thought, the positive thought, you will create about yourself an atmosphere propitious to success, health and well-being.

~ ~  Norman Vincent Peale

 

I spent years after my divorce believing nothing good would come of my life and sure enough nothing did; only the bare minimum to survive. Then one day my boss spoke a word into my life. That if I wanted to be a college professor he knew I could do it – even against the odds – financial and intellectual lack. I was good with numbers, and excellent accountant and business manager but graduate school required reading, lots of it. And that was something I had struggle with my whole life. But this man knew I could do it. I did have something in me greater than any lack – Jesus. Those words took root and after a year of preparing myself financially, emotionally and intellectually, I enrolled in grad school. I moved my little family a hundred miles away to pursue a dream. With the help of one of my first professors, new glasses and an understanding of my visual handicap I did learn to read. And yes, I did become a college professor.

Dread & faith – both have power. Which will you choose?

Reflect: Have you entertained a spirit of dread? What was the result and how did you break it?

10 responses to “Thought Conditioner #24

  1. What an absolutely marvelous and encouraging story!

  2. I have a whatsapp Christian group would you mind joining and share the word ?

  3. Reblogged this on Baby Mama's Blog and commented:
    This is so true! Not easy, but true! We create the lives we live – by what we think and how we think! Say no to the negative. Say yes to the positive!

  4. Great testimony, Ana. I needed the reminder ‘we are what we think’.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  5. Your story is inspiring Ana. Thank you for sharing and bravo!

What do you think?

