Share Your World – 2015 Week #29

Each Monday Cee Neuner of Cee’s Photography asks four questions as a way for us to get to know each other. I hope you enjoy sharing my world.

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Carlsbad Caverns National Park NM More appropriate is what didn’t I want to be. Even the jobs for guys that everyone told me “you can’t do that, you’re a girl”, I thank the Lord that times have changed. It’s the reason I’m not a drummer today.

Looking back at my type of play and it mostly focused on adventure and exploration. I remember an interview I did in my jr year. I was asked “what do you want to do”. My response was I wanted to write non fiction and work at the UN as a translator, speaking 7 languages.

So how have I done? I never worked at the UN but I did have a job where I had to translate Spanish. I never learned to speak 7 languages but I did learn to read

  1. English (of course)
  2. Spanish (and speak)
  3. French
  4. Portuguese
  5. Italian
  6. Romanian (a little)
  7. Greek (started studying again last year)

I started learning Hebrew and Hieroglyphics but got distracted by graduate school. Since grad school I didn’t keep up with most of the languages and what you don’t use you lose. I kept up with Spanish and I’m re-learning Greek but I probably wont relearn the others. So again, I’ve somewhat done what I said.

As for the writing, while I’ve started a couple of books, even have 2 finished, I’ve not had any published. Writing for my blogs contributes to that dream. And I do intend on publishing but first I just need to find time to breathe.

Now to the adventure and exploration I’d say I’ve accomplished this one. My whole life has been and adventure. Every chance I got until Kai we’d go on a road trip or hiking. My “Jubilee Journey” was all about adventure – an adventure of a lifetime.

(photo taken at Carlsbad Caverns National Park, New Mexico)

What was your favorite food as a child? Do you eat it now? 

I have no idea, I can remember better what I didn’t like and where I’d hide it after my parents left the room. I do remember a funny food story. When I was 4 we went to an Italian restaurant. My dad got a pizza and mom and I spaghetti. I wanted nothing to do with the pizza until it came to the table. Needless to say, my dad didn’t have dinner because I ate his whole pizza. I don’t remember eating much if it after that until high school but since high school it’s been my favorite food.

If you were invisible, where would you go?

I don’t know, not really a nibby nose. I learned a long time ago, ignorance is bliss.

Would you rather forget everyone else’s name all the time or have have everyone for your name all the time?

doesn’t matter I already forget everyone’s name, I’m better with faces. And people can’t seem to get my name right.

“What’s your name”

“Ana (ah-nah)”

“oh, Anna (aan-nah)”

“no, Ana”

“Oh, you mean Anna”

“Oh, forget it, call me whatever you want”

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

DSC_0287

Atlanta, GA

I’m so grateful that we actually made it to Indiana. Left Thursday at 10:00pm,
broke down at 3:00am with cracked radiator. Praise Jesus, we actually found a mechanic who was willing to fix it fast and reasonable (yes, I looked up the cost). A half hour later a tire blew. AAA was fast to change it but Wal-Mart didn’t have our tire so an hour drive to another Wal-Mart and three hours later we were back on the road, for another hour. No one could stay awake so we got a hotel. 48 hours later we finally made it. I was so glad to be out of that tiny car. I don’t know what my girls were thinking. “It’s only 16 hour plus stops we can drive straight thru”, Ah, no. We ARE staying in a motel on the return trip, too much for a 55-year-old and a 3-year-old. I just don’t have that need to rush anymore.

So what am I looking forward too: I’m back on the road doing field work. I have missed traveling for work, but I wouldn’t give up working from home. And I look forward to taking some photos.

shareworld

9 responses to “Share Your World – 2015 Week #29

  1. Ahh Atlanta… Been there, nice city..

  2. It was delightful reading your blog post this week. Thanks for sharing 😀

  3. Wow! That is crazy about the languages. Even if you did not keep them all up the fact that you learned to read them at all is quite an achievement!

  4. You certainly gives meaning to the word perseverance! 😊

What do you think?

