Thought Conditioner #19

I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. Philippians 4: 11, NIV

Your present situation may not be to your liking. Perhaps you are dissatisfied and discouraged. Put the matter in God’s hands. If He wants you elsewhere, He will lead you there, providing you are amenable to His will.

But perhaps He wants you where you are. In that case, He will help you to adjust to the situation. He will make you content, even grateful for present opportunities. Learn the great art of doing the best you can, with what you have, where you are.

When you do this, you learn how to reach the better condition, or how to make your present situation a better one.

~ ~  Norman Vincent Peale

 

I must say I’ve not always been content with my situation, perhaps with age or experience with God I’ve learned – somewhat.

Living in my minivan for two years taught me a valuable lesson – things may have been bad at time – but I didn’t die, was never hurt and God always provided for my needs. I often thought heat was a necessity but He showed me I could live in single digit temps with His grace. My first year on the road I encountered numerous record lows, 100-year cold spells – no matter how far south I went temps in the teens followed me. I cried, fretted and fumed but God always came through – either with a campsite with electricity to run my heater or his glorious protective heat. I never froze.

After my two years traveling my daughters and I found ourselves homeless for 14 months – four of them with an infant. Those days weren’t so long ago – 2011-2012. Perhaps those memories and how God brought us through keep us content even thought the situation isn’t what we want. God’s grace makes it sufficient.

Reflect: Do you have an experience with God that still helps you remain content in all things? Please share

7 responses to “Thought Conditioner #19

  1. God is good! God is with us! God will protect us! God loves us!

  2. yeseventhistoowillpass

    I actually love living in my little house on wheels.. But I’m weird:)

  3. عابرةسبيل

    You are such a strong person
    Respect

What do you think?

