Thought Conditioner #18

Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. Matthew 7:7, NLT

This is a very practical technique of prayer. It works amazingly. One reason we do not get answers to our prayers is that we ask, but do not really expect to receive. We are expert askers, but inexpert receivers.

This spiritual formula tells us to ask and then immediately conceive of ourselves as receiving. For example, to be free from fear, ask the Lord to free you. Then believe that He has immediately done so. The minute you express your faith by sincerely asking Him for a blessing and believe your prayer is answered, your prayer is answered.

~ ~  Norman Vincent Peale

There is an area of my life that I ask but don’t receive – health. If I happen to remember to ask my mind is not ready to receive. So my prayers remained unanswered. This is a double struggle so I have done something radical – for me. I’m keeping a specific journal for the purpose of regaining my health. I write specific prayers for health while thanking Jesus for the results. I also keep record of anything that affects my health: what is consumed (or lack of), rest & sleep, stress levels, balancing schedules. This helps me to see where I’m not receiving, where I’m responsible for my health. Jesus can fix me but what good is that when I choose poorly over and over.

I must choose daily, no, moment by moment at times, to accept his blessings of health and not sabotage them through behaviors that contradict his work.

Reflect: Where do you struggle in receiving God’s blessings? How will you change this self defeating behavior   ?

One response to “Thought Conditioner #18

  1. cvnadagroup2017

    like

What do you think?

