Thought Conditioner #2

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid. John 14:27, NIV

Without a deep inner state of quietness, one becomes prey to tension, worry, and ill health. A song, a sunset, moonlight, the sea washing on a sandy shore, these administer a healing balm. But they lack power to penetrate the inner recesses of the soul.

A profound depth therapy is required to attain healing quietness. An habitual repetition of this one text will, in time, permeate your personality with a complete sense of peace.

When tense or restless, sit quietly and allow these words to pass unhindered through your thoughts. Conceive of them as spreading a healing balm throughout your mind.

~ ~  Norman Vincent Peale

There is nothing like spending quality time with God, in silence and solitude, to give your soul a sense of overwhelming peace.

When I lived alone this was easy, daily hours with God. I’ve never experience such peace. But just add people to the mix and everything gets messy and oh so noisy. Now living with my talkative twin girls, a high energy grandson and a schedule that just never quits, I find it difficult to attain any peace at all. Once what was easy for me is now a challenge.

I’ve had some health issues that I believe is a direct result of the loss of that peace. I don’t just have one schedule but five, three of which are always open on my computer: my daily calendar, Kai’s school, overall word press, detailed WordPress, and a menu. Oh and let’s just add my nine tasks lists each with a list of future to do’s. You see, boredom will never be part of my life but neither will peace as long as those calendars rule my days. I have learned to view most activities on the lists as optional and with computers it’s easy to drag and drop any activity to the next day, next week or put far into the future by adding it to my tasks lists. I am a work in progress and I thank God that’s he’ll never give up or leave me to myself.

Reflect: Have you experienced such inner peace? Thank God for showing you the way. If you still struggle with attaining the peace of God seek your heart, what keeps you from achieving that peace? Ask the Holy Spirit to show you the way.

What do you think?

