Share Your World – 2014 Week 24

Each Monday Cee Neuner of Cee’s Photography asks four questions as a way for us to get to know each other. I hope you enjoy sharing my world.

What makes you feel the most secure?

A safe car. I know my security is in Jesus but oh how I’d love a safe car.

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

Flip flop, duh! I live in Florida, is there any other kind of shoe. Why? Because it’s so easy to be bare-footed in a second.

How many languages do you speak?

2 – English fluent, Spanish fair

What was the largest city you have been to?  What is the one thing you remember most?

I asked Cee if she wanted by population or area she said whatever I wanted but offered the MSA (metropolitan statistical area) and so being the geographer that I am I’m giving all.

By area: The top 4 cities by area are in Alaska, now doubt with the lowest populations. But number 5, Jacksonville, Florida – been there, ate there, swam there. (still hoping to visit Alaska)

By population: New York City is the largest with nearly 8.5 million. I’ve been there a few times. In February 2001 I went for a week to attend a geography conference. I was fun and challenging dealing with undergrads. Then everyone left (by plane). My bus was scheduled to leave later in the day. But it began to snow and accumulation rose to a whopping 1 inch, too much snow for busses to leave. I was stranded in NYC, oh, what a shame. Now I was back in my hostel room, free of undergrads, and had the time of my life.

By MSA: I looked up the largest metropolitan statistical areas in the US. Listed Wikipedia there are 381 msa’s and I’ve been to at least 177 of them. That’s nearly half. I know, I really didn’t have the time to read all these but I was hooked – so I did it again to see how many of the top msa’s I’ve been to – 60 of the top 70. Hum, what does that say about someone who prefers the wilderness. Ok, so I had to eat, or there was a Wal-mart to camp at. So what is the largest – New York/Newark/Jersey City and I’ve been there. Besides the above visit I’ve stayed in the area at least four other times, all such fun – even for a nature freak.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Getting a lot of work done, and this week I’m one week closer to vacation.

shareworld

9 responses to “Share Your World – 2014 Week 24

  1. 1. Jesus of course! but besides Him I’d have to say good health makes me feel most secure. 2. I speak english and spainglish… okay, okay so that is just one. Oh, how I wish I knew another language ;=) 3. I’d have to say some sort of slip on or flip flop, for the same reason that it is so simple to be barefoot in a jiffy ;=) 4. Largest city would probably be Dallas. I remember the accents and the big, loud and friendly personalities.

  2. I’ve lived in Florida since 1989 but still can’t get into flip flops. Many of my friends have a collection of them.
    I like a shoe with a good inner sole.
    I enjoyed reading your answers. : )

    • I like a good inner sole if I’m going to walk a lot but I don’t walk much any more :(. But I do like to go barefoot, thus the flip flops. I hadn’t worn flip flops since the 70s until I moved here in 2010. Thanks for commenting

  3. I didn’t know Alaska had four of the biggest area in cities. Although it does make sense. Loved your answers this week. Thanks for sharing.

What do you think?

