Prayer for Patience

warsaw gardens 8.7.13 160

God, teach me to be patient, teach me to go slow,
Teach me how to wait on You when my way I do not know.

Teach me sweet forbearance when things do not go right
So I remain unruffled when others grow uptight.

Teach me how to quiet my racing, rising heart
So I might hear the answer You are trying to impart.

Teach me to let go, dear God, and pray undisturbed until
My heart is filled with inner peace and I learn to know your will.

~ Helen Steiner Rice

26 responses to “Prayer for Patience

  1. yeseventhistoowillpass

    What a nice prayer.. Teach me to let go!

    • Thank you. I’m glad I decided to post it and I plan on posting more occasionally. I wish I had started posting these before. Praying the word is something I feel is very important to the Christian walk.

  2. Hi there I have decided to add you blog to my list of 5 new blogs that I am following as part of the zero to hero challenge. I love your pictures and wise words and look forward to reading and seeing more. Bless you and your Jubilee Journey. Joy

  3. I am awarding you the Premio Dardos award. There are also 6 awards I’m offering to all my readers, which you can take any or all of those. If you don’t accept awards, sorry about that, it’s just my way of saying thank you for coming by. For more details, please view this post http://wp.me/p41c99-MI Take care, Sage

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Lovely!

  5. this was so nice – πŸ™‚ and I have not seen Helen’s name in a while and it reminded me of some greeting cards – that used to be on that cool watercolor paper – and well, this was so nice – and the photo was perfect.
    πŸ™‚

    • So glad you enjoyed. I’m not much of a poetry person but some are just too good and need shared. I’ll have to get more of her work.

      The photo was the perfect spot for her “prayer”, a botanical garden. Thank you for visiting and the lovely comment.

  6. Hi Ana beautiful pryer.Patience is a great virtue .Thank you for sharing.God bless.jalal Michael.

  7. “Teach me how to quiet my racing, rising heart
    So I might hear the answer You are trying to impart.” No kidding, right???? SHUT UP AND LISTEN, LILLY!

    • Urg, I think I need to read this again today. Nothing like a potty traing 2.5 year old to test your patience. My heart is racing with anxietly LOL.
      Sometimes its hard to shut up when a 2 year old is yelling “MAMA, MAMA, MAAAAAA”,
      “what Kai”,
      “hi”.
      “hi, really, you wake the dead for that?”
      URG…it’s been one of those days. He finally fell asleep, just as its time to get up. πŸ™‚

      • I know it’s horrible to be laughing right now…but that is FUNNY! If you get a minute, here’s a post to relate to…
        http://dooce.com/2014/05/01/note-family-planning/

      • I bet you had no idea when you came to my blog you’d unleash a crazy woman LOL. I guess that’s what happens when you’re trapped 160 hours a week with a raging toddler. Put me in a white room now πŸ™‚

      • Just read that post, so funny. We’ve actually laid in bed thinking “if I lay here a little longer will he shut up?” and then the next morning ask each other “are we neglecting him?'”. No, the neglect would be if I didn’t get enough sleep and acted like crazy woman the next day (and I have been close). I am way too old for this.

        Don’t get me wrong, most days are awesome but he feels the need to make up for the good behavior occasionally. I don’t know if it’s cause he’s a boy, or that I’m old but he has more energy than my twin daughters put together. He’s even provided excellent birth control for them.

  8. Pingback: An Attitude of Patience | Jubilee Journey

What do you think?

