Share Your World – 2014 Week 16

How many places have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities.

I was born in Augusta, GA and lived between there and Worcester MA, Wareham MA and West Yarmouth MA. When I was seven we moved to West Yarmouth permanently. (A total of 9 residences that I know of)

When I was 17 I moved to Anderson IN to go to college (5 residences)

When I was 23 my husband and I moved to Dallas TX, and 5 years later moved back to Indiana with twins in tow (6 residences)

At 27, after my divorce I moved to Muncie then Beaver Dam Lake, 5 years later I returned to Anderson to finish my degree and later graduate school.

My room with a different view everyday for over 700 days

My room with a different view everyday for over 700 days

When I was 49-51 I lived in my minivan/camper. I lived in 44 states, countless cities, national parks and other protected/wilderness areas. In one day in March of 2010 I worked in 4 counties in 3 states and because it was winter “no camping” season I couldn’t find a campground so I stayed the weekend in yet another state.

When the journey ended I moved to Orlando Florida and soon got a job 3 hours away so I moved to Englewood, the day I moved my daughter called and said she was pregnant…3 months later I was back in Orlando and here I stay.

 

What type of music relaxes you the most?

It depends on my mood and why I need relaxed. Sometimes it’s Christian rock other times Battlestar Galactica (2004) soundtracks. It’s primarily instrumental with many tracts having a middle eastern, or African, or Indian or Celtic feel.

If you could instantly become fluent in another language, what would that language be and why?

I live in Florida it I guess Spanish is the obvious answer. But the truth is even if I didn’t live here I would choose Spanish. I love the language and have studied it. I love all things Iberia.

If you could fly or breathe under water what would you prefer?

Definitely breathe underwater. There’s so much to see. All new places to explore, places no human has gone or seen. I love being in the water, it’s so soothing.

Besides, I’m scared of heights.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for my vacation from cooking and Kai but now I’m looking forward to more structure. Go figure

 

shareworld

33 responses to “Share Your World – 2014 Week 16

  1. Very nice to know you better Ana! 🙂

    • well thank you, I didn’t see a “share your world” on your site 🙂

      • Thanks Ana but I’ve never heard of this share before. I do see we both graduated from AU. I graduated in ’80 with a degree in Religious Studies and Education. What was your major?

      • For goodness sake I was there the first time from 77-81. I studied criminal justice and sociology. Did you know Gary Salyer, he was in seminary at the time but worked with undergrads too. I think he graduated in 79 or 80

        Cee’s Photography does the share your world, she does several photography challenges which I participate in with my other blog. I used to post my answers as a comment and only just started creating a separate post. I’ve enjoyed getting to know the other participants.

      • Wow! I got out if the USAF and started at AU in 76-80. Gary sure sounds familiar but I can’t place him in this old brain of mine. I bet I do know him though! I bet I know you too if we could sit down and talk about classes and profs etc. who knows we may have even had a class together. I’ve stopped writing for a little while on my blog as I am trying to finalize a couple of books. I am still reading several people I follow like you. It is a small world 🙂

      • AU was a small school I have no doubt that if we didn’t know each other we had mutual friends.

        I understand about the time crunch, it’s all I can do to keep up with my blogs. I’ll be caught up with work by July I hope. After that I’ll post some photos somewhere and maybe you’ll recognize someone.

        Good luck on the books, I hope someday to write a few myself. I look forward to your return.

      • I’m sure you knew my Dad! He was director if Safety and security. Ed Oldham. Think everyone met him just to get an AU ID 🙂

      • Too funny, but no I don’t remember him.

      • Lol that’s funny. Nice getting to know you Ana!

      • Oh, and one more thing, I wasn’t Ana Perry in college…I was Barb (ana) Johnson if that rings any bells.

      • Nope 🙂 who did you take bible and sociology from?

      • are you serious, that was a long time ago. I don’t remember bible but sociology I remember Womack, Laverne Norris and Lewis (he was blind). I also too several classes from Griffith & leech in psychology

      • Wow! I had Fred Burnette for Bible. I loved him. Took as many classes as I could under him. I also had Womack, Norris, griffin. Didn’t have Leach or Lewis.

      • I don’t remember Burnette, sounds familiar though. Leech was hard, no mercy, but I also baby sat for him, nicest guy. Lewis was primarily social work.

  2. Me encanto’ el relato de tu vida en movimiento….!
    He vivido muchos años en Latino-América y me gustan español y portugués . Creo que nadie haya mudado tanto como tu y siempre admiro tus fotos súper-fabulosas…..
    Te abrazo

    • he movido mucho, no? No me gusta ser en uno lugar para mucho tiempo 😉 De donde vivó en Latino-America. Brazil? Porque ellos hablan portugués. Cuando era una niná quiero ir al tierra del fuego desde Nueva Inglaterra (near boston) por mi bicicleta. Es más que 6600 miles.

      Me gusto hablando en espanol, no habló mucho desde 2000 y he olviado muchas palabras asi espero puedes coprendame.

      Y gracias por tu apoyar, y estoy faliz que te gustas mi fotos.

      • Hola Ana,
        Gracias por contestar mi comentario.
        En serio quieres llegar a Patagonia desde new England?…….
        Yo viví en Argentina , en Venezuela y en Brasil , pero nací en Milán , Italia , y ahora vivo allí.
        Un abrazo grande!

      • Si cuando será diez años quiero ir por bicicleta pero ahora quiero ir por RV. Pero ahoro hay mucho peligro en Columbia así ahora viajar en los eeuu.

        espero un día puedo ir sudamerica. Mi hija tiene una amiga en sao Paulo y quiermos visitarla en los proximos años

  3. Thanks so much for sharing. I enjoyed reading your post.

  4. It is nice to know you better – we lived in Augusta for nearly a year when hubby was stationed at Fort Gordon and we lived in Tampa while he was at MacDill AFB. These types of posts are always interesting, maybe I should do one too….Blessings!

  5. Your living in a camper and traveling around sounds fascinating. I keep thinking it would be fun now that we’re retired but I think I’m the only one here who thinks so! We’re neighbors! I’m in Winter Garden! 🙂

    • Not doing it now I quit in 2011 when my van broke down and before I could fix and go I had a grandson that I just can’t seem to tear myself away from. In a few years I hope to return to the road, grandson too.

      God’s timing was perfect. I was unemployed, I closed my business, my house sold and my adult daughters had already moved to Florida and were waiting on me. I had a 5 month transition between leaving IN to when I wanted to be in FL – that 5 months turned into 23. It was the most amazing time. I don’t think I’d recommend it for married people, unless you have one of those bigger camper vans. Mine was just a minivan I converted – room for one only.

      Winter Garden, just down the street. Actually about a half hour. I’m about 5 minutes from SeaWorld. My Dr is in Winter Garden. I’ll be over your way next month.

  6. Holy cow! Wish I had known you in 2010; but for the future, my “pasture” is always open to a camper! ;oP

    • I wish you had known me too LOL. I’m always open to camping out in any pasture, beats a lot of the places I stayed 🙂 but I must say, I’m forever in debt to Walmart LOL.

      FYI: this summer I’m starting a new series on boondocking (aka dry camping), Pasture camping fits right in.

What do you think?

