Share Your World – 2014 Week 15

Cee over at Cee’s Photography runs several blogging challenges. The “Share Your World” challenge is a fun way for us to get to know a little more about each other. In the past I have posted my answers directly to her posts but I thought it’s time to share a bit more of my world with my friends here.

Here are my responses:

For your blog do you basically use Windows or Mac, laptop, desktop, pad, or phone?

I use a laptop because I can take it anywhere but sometimes I use my phone for reading

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Grand Teton National Park, WyomingWhat didn’t I want to be is more like it. But when I look back and think about the games I played and the imaginary roll-playing I did my life was geared to exploration/travel and science. I rarely played at home because there was always an adventure elsewhere.

So what about now? What did I grow up to be and did my childhood dreams affect my future? Yes! I grew up to be a geographer – a traveling earth scientist. I unfortunately took me 40 years to get there because geography education is so poor, but eventually I did find my way to my hearts desire. I am also an advocate for protected places from independently managed preserves and zoos to state park to the largest national parks. I have recently started a series over at Geophilia. We need to protect these lands, these biomes, not just for themselves but for us. Our hearts are closely tied to such wilderness places and without them, without spending time in them, a bit of our hearts will die also.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

Coast Guard Beach, Eastham MAI grew up in a place so different from most of the US. It wasn’t rural. It wasn’t typical suburbia and with only about 27,000 year round residents it was hardly a city. I never considered small town and it wasn’t until college that I realized how small it was. But for three months of the year the population grew in the area from under 100,000 year round resident to over a million. The square mile around my home went from about six families to hundreds from all types of backgrounds and nationalities, most from cities such as Boston and NYC. We had all the amenities of an urban downtown  but with the quaintness and charm of a small fishing village. So where did I grow up? Cape Cod, Mass.

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? 

Physically: yesterday – 80, today 65 (I’m 54)

Mentally: 36.

Oh if only the body could keep up with what the mind wants to do

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful for getting out of the house Saturday, it’s a rare occurrence anymore. I went to SeaWorld and took over 1500 photos – after getting rid of the really bad ones and dup’s I still had over 700.

This week still enjoying my vacation from cooking and my nanny duties (so I can work more on my business, not much of a vacation). Weather permitting I’ll be heading to the beach over the weekend.

 

shareworld

 

13 responses to “Share Your World – 2014 Week 15

  1. I’m looking forward to all your photos. I so adore the energy in your writing. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I enjoyed reading your answers. There were very interesting. I liked the one about age. I feel that way sometimes, too.
    XD

  3. Huh. 36 seems to be a popular desired age as I read through these. I actually am 36 – so I think I’m gonna start revelling in that awesome age a bit more than I have been 🙂

    • Its a good age, once I got there I liked it so I decided to stay. I’ve been 36 going on 19 years. Enjoy while you can, before you know it a couple decades will pass.
      Now only if I could get my knees to agree with that age.
      thanks for visiting

  4. Pingback: Share Your World – 2014 Week 15 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  5. I didn’t know that about Cape Cod, MA. Wow.

    • That was 30 years ago, and it hasn’t changed much since. Not sure what you’re referring to but the population is actually a little over 200,000 now (I looked it up) but that could include part time home owners. We may be little but we’re mighty 🙂

      • Maybe I misread it (ooopsie), but it sounds like it grew fast!

      • there was a big boom in the 80s-90s but now its loosing population. I hear there’s a lot of crime esp in Hyannis area, even have a curfew. Makes me sad. I remember it as a magical place.

        I’m still working on responses…looks like you camped out LOL

      • Yes; I have been letting myself off the hook, daily, and binging to catch up. It’s my “thing.” ;oP

      • I understand. I do the same. Actually this is my busy work time till July so I’ll be doing less, come July it’s on…lots of catching up

What do you think?

