Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember

There are so many moments but of course a few stand out. First was the birth of my daughters. Here I am looking like hell with my girls only a few hours old.

IMG_0064

My next moment to remember swings the other way with a tragic attack on my heart. I had been blessed with two beautiful girls and only two years later I lost my mom. To add coals to the fire only nine months later I lost my dad too.

ashley photo album2_0122

But so much has happened since those sad days, both good and bad. I lost my dear grandmother but found my father’s family. I accomplished goals, got a PhD, spent two years traveling and then came another moment to remember. In the first photo I had just given birth to my daughters. In the photo below I’m with one of those babies only minutes after she gave birth to my grandson. It was a sad day when my girls were born because I had to have a C-section so I missed their birth. There were no memories, no photos of that blessed event. My husband wasn’t’ even allowed in the room. The loss of that moment never left. But here I am – my loss redeemed – a moment that still brings tears of joy to my eyes.

IMG227

 

Check out other Moments to Remember at the Daily Prompt

 

 

14 responses to “Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember

  1. What a journey you’ve had. Your babies are beautiful and you don’t look like hell, either!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Moments | The Wandering Poet

  3. Pingback: In which I have no original ideas | Infinitefreetime.com

  4. Pingback: Moments to Remember | Alexia Jones

  5. Pingback: Mutts in Love | Views Splash!

  6. You looked radiant in the picture. You have had an amazing journey my friend, just more evidence on how amazing and strong you are.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember | My Atheist Blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  10. Patricia Dalce

    beautiful pictures!!!

    • Thanks Patricia, that’s so cool you commented, you are my first commenter that’s not on wordpress. Hope all is going well with you and that cute little boy of yours.

What do you think?

