How to build confidence

100_5010

 

Confidence comes naturally to some and in different way. For example, while I have confidence in my God-given abilities my confidence with people wanes. Even though I don’t struggle with this attitude I do have to remind myself I’m in God’s hands and he will always take care of me.

 

Here are a few useful tips to strengthen your confidence and recognize you confidence is in Jesus.*

  1. Create a mental picture of yourself succeeding. Never entertain  thoughts of failure or doubt the reality of your mental picture
  2. Deliberately speak a positive word to cancel out negative thoughts that may creep in
  3. Minimize, don’t amplify, troubles in your mind
  4. Repeat several times a day “if God be for me who can be against me” (Romans 8:31)
  5. Repeat several times a day “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Philippians 4:13)
  6. Put yourself in God’s hands and state “I am in God’s hands” then believe you’re receiving all the power you need. Feel the power of the Holy Spirit flowing through you.

Attitude Challenge:

Choose something you find difficult overcoming. What are your fears? What is holding you back? Make a list of steps to overcome and complete the challenge.

Books on a confident attitude

  • Approval addiction – Joyce Meyer
  • Straight talk  on insecurity – Joyce Meyer
  • Catch the sprit of hope – bob Slosser
  • Guide to confident living – Norman Vincent Peale

Verses to meditate on

  • Galatians 2:20 – I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.
  • 2 Timothy 1:7 – For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline.
  • Philippians 1:6 – Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion.
  • Hebrews 4:16 – Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence
  • 1 John 5:14 – And we are confident that he hears us whenever we ask for anything that pleases him.
  • Hebrew 10:35 – So do not throw away your confidence; it will be richly rewarded.
  • 2 Corinthians 3:4 – Such confidence we have through Christ before God.

*Based on The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale

Back to: A Confident Attitude
Next: Quotes for a Confident Attitude

8 responses to “How to build confidence

  1. One of my favorite prayers is “Jesus, I trust in you.” Thanks for encouraging trust, Ana!

  2. let go of the reins and let the wind wash over you!

  3. Hi Ana ,beautiful inspiring and encouraging thought.Regards.jalal

  4. Pingback: A Confident Attitude | Jubilee Journey

What do you think?

