A Confident Attitude

P1110525The next attitude of the mind – a confident attitude – is closely tied to a last month’s attitude – positive attitude as confidence naturally flows from being positive. Just as with being positive confidence also affects the amount of success we have in our lives and as with a positive attitude, a confident attitude comes from our thought life. If you live without confidence you will live a life of mediocrity. A person with low confidence will feel insecure, experience self pity and instability and often live with the mental anguish of perfectionism.

But while we need to have a healthy confidence in what God has given us, we must remember our confidence comes from the Lord.

“Such Confidence we have through Christ before God. Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God.”  ~  2 Corinthians 3:4-5

“We don’t need self-confidence we need God-confidence”  ~ Joyce Meyer

Don’t forget to check out the Daily Meditations for quotes and Bible verses on attitudes, confidence and fear. Meditate on positive thoughts to guide your thoughts in a positive and confident direction.

Last month as asked the question: What Attitudes Trouble You? Here are the results. These are the “evil twins” to many of the attitudes I’ll cover this year. I will address each of these “soul blockers” over the next year. This month I’ll touch on insecurity.

  • Anxiety 37.5     (a peaceful, calm attitude)
  • Insecurity 25     (confident attitude)
  • Unforgiveness12.5     (attitudes of kindness and mercy)
  • Fear 12.5     (courageous attitude)
  • Doubt 6.25     (attitudes of trust and faith)
  • Too many expectations 6.25     (calm attitude)

A Prayer for Confidence

Jesus, help me to rely on your strength and not succumb to fear, to go boldly into the life you want for me.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Other Posts in this series: A Confident Attitude:
How to build confidence
Quotes for a Confident Attitude

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Attitude links
Introduction to Attitudes

Attitudes of the mind:
A Positive Attitude (negativity)
A Confident Attitude (insecure)
A Content Attitude (anxious)
A Patient Attitude (impatient)

Attitudes of the heart:
A Joyful Attitude (discouraged)
A Kind and Caring Attitude (depressed)
A Courageous Attitude (fearful)
A Determined Attitude (quitting, distracted)

Attitudes of the spirit:
A Hopeful Attitude (hopelessness)
A Humble Attitude (proud)
A Trusting Attitude (doubt, double minded)
A Peaceful Attitude (frustrated, anxious)

17 responses to “A Confident Attitude

  1. The way we think–what we believe–really does determine the way we behave.

    No surprise that anxiety is the highest-ranking trouble. We live in a world that surrounds us with stressors; very difficult to get away from.

    • Its unfortunate the mind, body, spirit connections is often overlooked and the obvious outcome…imbalance…causes so much stress and anxiety.
      Thank you for your comment and visiting, and following. Have a great day, Ana

  2. Oh, I am sooooo working on this attitude, myself. When I walk confidently, I find I have the courage to do (and say) what I need in a timely manner, thus keeping “my side of the street” as clear of (emotional) debris as possible! Lovely! I missed your poll (sorry), but I thought on this a great deal last night and I think Anxiety and Insecurity are hand-in-hand at the top for me. Thanks for getting my brain thinking!

    • Well I’m glad your brain is working again. Oddly, this hasn’t been an issue for me. The flip side – insecurity – has been a problem. I think its because much of my confidence comes from my own ability, something I’ve been forced to rethink these past couple of years. I hope you continue to be blessed in confidence.

  3. Pingback: Jubilee in 2014 – Changing Attitudes | Jubilee Journey

  4. Pingback: An Attitude of Patience | Jubilee Journey

  5. Pingback: A Contented attitude | Jubilee Journey

  6. Pingback: Transformative nature of a positive attitude | Jubilee Journey

  7. Pingback: A Joyful Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  8. Pingback: A Kind and Caring Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  9. Pingback: A Courageous Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  10. Pingback: A Determined, Persevering Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  11. Pingback: A Hopeful Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  12. Pingback: A Humble Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  13. Pingback: A Trusting Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  14. Pingback: A Peaceful Attitude | Jubilee Journey

  15. Pingback: How to build confidence | Jubilee Journey

What do you think?