My Own Little World

old family pics_0112Thanksgiving is coming up soon and time to give thanks for all our blessings, but not just in words. Let us also show our gratitude by giving to others even in some small way. We don’t all have money or time to give but we can always give a smile or some small kindness. Let us all remember this month to show our gratitude by including others in our own little world.

In my own little world it hardly ever rains
I’ve never gone hungry, always felt safe
I got some money in my pocket, shoes on my feet
In my own little world
Population me

I try to stay awake through Sunday morning church
I throw a twenty in the plate but I never give ’til it hurts
and I turn off the news when I don’t like what I see
it’s easy to do when it’s
population me

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now
outside my own little world
Stopped at the red light, looked out my window
I saw a cardboard sign said “Help this homeless widow”
Just above that sign was the face of a human
I thought to myself, “God, what have I been doing?”

So I rolled down the window and I looked her in the eyespain_0040-2
Oh how many times have I just passed her by
I gave her some money then I drove on through
in my own little world there’s
Population two

Father break my heart for what breaks Yours
give me open hands and open doors
put Your light in my eyes and let me see
that my own little world is not about me

What if there’s a bigger picture
what if I’m missing out
What if there’s a greater purpose
I could be living right now

I don’t wanna miss what matters
I wanna be reachin’ out
Show me the greater purpose
So I can start livin’ right now
outside my own little world

~  ~  Matthew West  ~  ~

Check out the video My Own Little World

2 responses to “My Own Little World

  1. The little things in life mean so much to those who receive it and even more to the givers

What do you think?

