A Month of Thanksgiving – Week 1

It’s November and we enter our second month of this holiday season, our second of four major holidays. The first being Halloween then Thanksgiving with Christmas  and New Years and New Years yet to come. Thanksgiving is one of the biggest holidays. It is also celebrated in other countries and known by other names such as Harvest Festival which I will cover in a later post. Here I will give a brief overview of Thanksgiving, especially for my many friends abroad and then I’ll tell you what I’m thankful for.

103_2156Here in the US we celebrate Thanksgiving every fourth Thursday of November. Evidence shows it probably began in November of 1621 in Plymouth, Mass. There is much myth and theory about purpose, what they ate and who with but the general theory is that Thanksgiving began as a tribute to God for all he had done. After arriving in Provincetown, Mass in 1620 they lost a considerable percentage of the original Mayflower passengers; they suffered, toiled and starved. They had been blown off-course and were supposed to land in Virginia but instead wandered into the frigid winter of Massachusetts. They received help from the locals with food and especially learning about agriculture in the difficult Cape Cod dirt, or what we capecodders like to call sand. It is believed the Indians attended this first celebration of thanks, a harvest festival that would ensure they lived another year.

Today our celebration is much different than what the Pilgrims could have imagined; especially our Thanksgiving Day parade and Thanksgiving Day football…the TV alone would have been enough to make them say “witches, hang ‘em!”. Ok, so that comes later in history. One thing that all celebrations of thanks and harvest festivals is the food. A traditional Thanksgiving meal here in the US will include a turkey and sometimes ham accompanied by mashed potatoes, stuffing, rolls, cranberry sauce and of course pumpkin pie. My family is already looking forward to our personal favorites in addition to the traditional listed above such as green bean casserole, macaroni and cheese, sweet potato casserole, pecan pie with monkey bread and eggnog for breakfast. This year will be a little different since we’re all on a low-carb diet. We’ll see what I come up with. The pilgrims wouldn’t have known much of what we eat today and their meal would have included corn, turkey, fish and lobster. Now that does sound good too.

My Thanks:

It is important to give thanks, to live a life of gratitude so in honor of what God has done for me and my family I’m going to post weekly what I’ve been thankful over the past week. I would love to hear what are you grateful for this season?

November 1: The life Jesus has given me, his love, peace and salvationkai halloween 004

November 2: My grandson, he has brought so much love and laughter to our lives

November 3: My daughters, for their love and friendship, and for letting me be nanny to Kai.

November 4: My family, their love and all they have taught me

sunset & rainbows 020November 5: Rainbows. I don’t see them often and I was blessed this week to see this one arching the sky.

November 6: Sunsets, one of my favorites to photograph. I don’t get to see many through all the trees.

November 7: Trees, I love the coverage from the sun, the shade they provide and the sound of the wind rustling through the leavessunset & rainbows 022

November 8: Grimm…I absolutely love this TV show and the relationship between the characters.

November 9: I haven’t swum in a month, water is too cold. I enjoyed the afternoon today sitting in the sun, taking to a friend by the pool. And no I didn’t go in, I’m a wimp.

~*~*~*~*~

Next week: more on the pilgrims and the life of these early settlers at Plimoth Plantation (no, this isn’t a spelling error).

2 responses to “A Month of Thanksgiving – Week 1

  1. We were invited to a thanksgiving dinner a few years ago in Belgium by American friends. A first for us as South Africans who were not familiar with this concept. It was wonderful, truly an enjoyable evening with people from many different cultures.

What do you think?

