An Inward Prayer

P1010001

I ask not, Lord, a famous name,
Or wealth that plays a roulette game
I ask for strength of limb and hand,
And thoughts that turn to understand.

I as a heart that shares its hope;
A patient will that dares to cope,
I ask for love that gleans the husk,
And faith that pierces every dusk.

I ask for sight to take the path
That lifts my soul in aftermath,
And grace to keep a pleasant smile
When life demands its second mile.

I ask You, Lord, to lend a song
When skies are dark, and hours, long,
I ask for bread upon my board,
With grateful praise for common horde.

I ask for peace at my day’s end,
The love of thee – and one true friend.

by…Roxie Lusk Smith

2 responses to “An Inward Prayer

  1. I loved the poem so much! And the picture of course , very inspiring!

What do you think?

