Embrace the road

When God wants you to move, to take a new road, don’t hang on to the past, to the thing he told you to let go of. Hanging on to what God is finished with will hold you back from truly embracing where he wants you to be.

What is it that you can’t let go of? What is keeping you where you are? It may be an addiction or habit or just being too comfortable. An addiction can be anything that you can’t live without. I got rid of my TV a year and a half before my trip because I knew I couldn’t live without it. It may be food, a relationship, a bad habit, free time, or something more harmful like drugs or workalcoholism (yes stress kills).

Heading out on a new adventure with Jesus means stepping out into the unknown and you have to be ready to face new challenges. Believe me, you can plan and plan, but you can’t plan for everything. It’s the unexpected that will throw you off your game. If God told us everything about his plan we may never head out. I’m not sure I would have ever left home if I had known I was going to be camping in the dead of winter with no heat. We need to accept the assignment and move forward giving 100 percent.

If I had treated my journey like a vacation, knowing there were things left behind that eventually I’d have to go back I wouldn’t have truly embraced the life of living on the road. Living out of suitcases would have kept me from the freedom of unpacking and moving into my new life. If I had kept my home, car and belongings I would have worried about what I had left behind. Paul said “I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14 ESV)”. If we refuse to move forward not only do we lose the prize but also those who would have benefited from our journey with Christ will lose as well.

When we’re on vacation we try to stuff as much activity in a day we can often to the point of exhaustion, but always thinking about how many days left, will my home be safe, what are my family and friends up to. On vacation we have the “it’s all about me” attitude. I had to let go my former life and move forward into what Jesus had in store for me. We must live the life and adjust our attitude to “it’s all about Him”.

You have a choice: go on vacation with Jesus or give up all to live your life with him.

3 responses to “Embrace the road

  1. These words hit home for me…. ” It may be a… habit or just being too comfortable. An addiction can be anything that you can’t live without..”. I have recently been asked to serve in a local ministry and I am praying on it. It is something I never thought about doing. I keep thinking of God’s servants who went beyond their comfort zones – am I read for a new challenge? I know I will have to give up some “comfort” things and change my life around, because it will be a huge commitment. I have my husbands support and know that God will provide me with the answers I need. Patty

    • Thank you so much for your comment, it has inspired my next post. I have learned that when I’m moving forward with God it’s smooth and easy, not that there aren’t problems, issues or complications but the presence of God transcends all. You might want to think about what would happen if you didn’t move forward, is there a sense of loss, a sadness? When you give all over to God you just can’t help but move forward, there will be no other choice in your mind and heart and soul.

What do you think?

