Infection: body, mind & spirit

First I’d like to apologize for my lack of posts. I spent the holidays sick and in the hospital. But I’m back now and will slowly get my blogging up to speed.

So back to the hospital…I must say it was not a pleasant experience. I was constantly tired, poked prodded, pricked; woken at all hours. I expected to be there a couple hours, which became 24 hours, then 2-3 days. By the time I was actually admitted 15 hours after arriving I learned my stay was indefinite and death and the loss of my arm a possibility. I get to my room and I learn I’m in isolation which means my grandson couldn’t visit. It felt like hell, no prison. Everyday they’d say maybe you’ll go home tomorrow and after a week they were finally going to release me…or so I thought. This releasing process took 11 hours and only after I through a fit.

Ah, but I’m home now. It took days to feel normal and I slept more than I was awake but I’m sure full recovery will happen soon.

What did I learn from this…

An innocent bug bite, scratched with hands that touched something at SeaWorld led to an infection that could have cost me my life or my arm which had swollen so much I couldn’t use or move it. Romans 12:2 say to not be conformed by this world. Even when we try and keep ourselves healthy – mind, body and body – Satan uses some small opening to infect us, wherever he can get too, whatever area is unprotected. Even more serious than infecting the body is the spirit and mind. When we let the world infect us with ideas contrary to the word we open the door to infection. What can we do to protect ourselves…stay close to the source of health, keep in the word and if sin is involved pray and resolve it immediately. I guess I should have resolved my bug bite by leaving it alone.

Once we are infected it’s hard to overcome. We have to work hard to clear out ourselves with antibiotics (God’s word) or we get trapped in the prisons of our decisions whether it be by our bad choices or an innocent overlook. If we stay healthy in the first place we’ll have less to deal with later. As Romans 12:1 says offer your bodies to God. When God is in control we come under his protection (Psm 91:3). Let’s work hard this year to stay healthy body mind and spirit.

12 responses to “Infection: body, mind & spirit

  1. Take good care and do stay healthy…I know how you feel because I was down with relapsing pain from my arms during the past few days and just returned to this wonderful blog-sphere last night…reading and posting (not yet) away…lol…

    Have a great day ahead~ Cheers!! 😀

    • Thanks for the encouragement and hope you get better too. I had all these plans for my blogs this year like posting every day, ah well better to be healthy than obsessed with plans.

      • You’re welcome~ Yes, I am getting better and have had one of the most fulfilled weekend after the recovery.

        Yes, health is the first priority because without health, all plans are just talks and no actions can be done.

        Take care & Cheers~ 😀

  2. Praise God you are home and doing better. Although I am sadden that you had to go through all of that, I thank you for using that time to teach us a valuable lesson about living in the Spirit. Patty

  3. I wish you a strong recovery. You would never think a bug bite would do this…but now everyday you will feel better and start your insightful blogging again. Here’s to healthy days, weeks, and months ahead! 🙂

  4. Glad to hear you are on the path of recovery. I wish you continued recovery. Thanks for stopping by and liking my blog post ‘Word of the Week Challenge entry – Clouds’.

  5. Glad to hear your home and on the mend.

  6. Glad to hear your physical health is improving and that you are strong in spirit! Praying for your complete recovery and that you find ways to keep blogging and enjoying social media. Your blogs are gorgeous and full of heart ❤

  7. I’m pleased to hear you are on the mend again.. Take care 🙂

What do you think?

