Day 513 – Nov 25 2010 – THANKSGIVING DAY – Giving up the fight, freeing my heart from the darkness

It’s Thanksgiving and even in the darkness and loneliness I have so much to be thankful for. I’ve been on this surreal road trip with Jesus and while things haven’t always been perfect they have been exactly how they should be. This adventure has gone beyond my dreams. I have been blessed with good friends, family, a miraculous healing and the van has held up.

What got me through this time of torment in the wasteland?

Time with the father in the warm deserts of the southwest was crucial. Placing me here at this time was the perfect place at the perfect time.

The love of a daughter who wouldn’t let me give up, my spiritual rock in a tough time, she came back to Jesus just in time to help me through the darkness. We talked and prayed daily. We even have bible study together.

Finally, uplifting music on such radio stations as K-Love, the Way and JoyFM fed my attitude with positive thoughts. I would sit in my van every night, hands lifted to Jesus, singing such wonderful songs as “You are more”, “Beautiful”, “Our God” and “Light up the sky”.

God always places the thing we need in our lives at just the time we need it.

One of those awesome songs that helped me through is “Light up the sky” by The Afters. I would sing, cry and praise God that he will always “Light up the sky to show me [He is] with me”. These words express exactly what I’ve been going through.

When I’m feeling all alone and so far to go
The signs are nowhere on this road guiding me home
When the night is closing in
It’s falling on my skin
Oh God will You come close

When stars are hiding in the clouds
I don’t feel them shining
When I can’t see beyond my doubt
The silver lining
When I’ve almost reached the end
Like a flood You’re rushing in
Love is rushing in

So I run straight to Your arms
You’re the bright and morning Sun
To show Your love, there’s nothing You won’t do

Light, light, light up the sky
You light up the sky to show me You are with me
I, I, I can’t deny
Oh I can’t deny that You are right here with me
You’ve opened my eyes so I can see You all around me
Light, light, light up the sky
Light up the sky to show me You are with me

What do you think?

