Day 415: Aug 19. “Distraction and Focus”

It seems I’m a on a detour, but how do I get back? Here I go; distracted again, all those little things pulling me off your road. First thing, pray: Lord, forgive me for my mental-emotional-spiritual lack of focus. I find so many ways to get off track. Thank you for always being there to nudge me back from my distraction. Second, I need to stop behaviors that waste time; playing games too long, looking for useless ways to make money, watching TV with Barb. I hear you say – focus.

I’m sensing a shift in my thoughts and behavior, albeit slow, but a shift none the less. I am beginning to let go again of my independent, self reliant ways. I could feel your peace and presence slipping away. I’m thankful that I’ve become so accustomed to your presence that I’m willing to do what’s needed to keep you close. I could not have come this far had I not traveled this road I’ve been on. It’s time to come back home and surrender and listen to your wise voice. Thank you Lord that you never let go.

Those who think they can do it on their own end up obsessed with measuring their own moral muscle but never get around to exercising it in real life. Those who trust God’s action in them find that God’s Spirit is in them—living and breathing God! Obsession with self in these matters is a dead end; attention to God leads us out into the open, into a spacious, free life. Romans 8:5 (The Message)

What do you think?

