Day 402: Aug 6. “God may not give us what we want but he always gives us what we need”

This is my last weekend in Michigan and my last powwow for the year. It’s been a long summer and I’m looking forward to an extended break. This definitely was not the summer I imagined last winter while I froze in the van. Those days of challenge and trust seem so long ago.

I’ve not taken the time to hike, take photographs or even search for waterfalls. Actually I only saw one waterfall this whole summer. Work, work, work! I had to rush to get done so I could pick up Princess and yet make enough to stay with Barb after she gets home from the hospital. I know…I should have trusted, and yet I took most of the summer in my own hands. No time for beauty.

What did I really lose? Was it the chance to take beautiful photographs, to see spectacular landscapes? No, I lost more than that; I lost peace and closeness with my Lord.

We want to trust God and to be obedient, but disobedience flows out of innate mistrust of God’s nature and his intentions towards us. God sees something in letting us fail, letting us go our own way. He’s more concerned about how we respond to our mistakes than about the actual mistake. I may have failed at least in my eyes, but over all it was a summer of trust. I still had to turn to God on a daily basis for a place to stay, a sink to bathe in, and to keep me safe and protect me from bears.

I am grateful to God for putting so many powwows in my path. I have met so many beautiful people – Randy, Pixie, Sandy – such a blessing, a blessed place to stay, relax, listen to great singing and drumming, and dancing. Oh can’t forget the frybread. I’m sure I gained ten pounds this summer. This may not have been the summer I looked forward to but it came with unexpected blessings of its own and I will always remember my summer at the powwows.

The enemy tries to drive a wedge in our relationships with God, he whispers, ”you are alone; no one wants you, cares for you or loves you. You have to do it all yourself and don’t even think you can get help. You can’t trust God; you haven’t been good enough for God to help you.” But just remember who the enemy is. He is the father of all lies. Anything you hear that doesn’t line up with the Word of God is a lie, and that only comes from one place. I was never alone, God was always with me and he made sure there were people in my path to share my life and faith with.

The thief [enemy] comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows). John 10:10 (Amplified Bible)

What do you think?

