Day 400: Aug 4, 2010. “Are you going through the motions?”

Are you going through the motions? Depending on our own resources will rob us of the life we really want. Independence puffs us up and will lead us to approach God through our own efforts. This will always lead to disappointment. Jesus fulfilled through himself everything he would ever ask of us so we must cease our own attempts at righteousness if we are to ever truly be free in Him.

Are you going through the motions? Do we come to God as businessperson or as a beggar? Do we try to negotiate for life or realize we are nothing without Him? I need Jesus and know I can’t earn his love; there is no need to negotiate. I have tried to earn it on my own: reading a number of chapters each day, taking notes in place of true journaling, fulfilling my “time with God” schedule, church attendance. Freedom in Christ is freedom from routine. How would you feel if the one you loved only came to you if it fit in their plan for the day?

I don’t wanna go one more day
without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking,
“What if I had given everything,
instead of going through the motions?”

–Excerpt from “The Motions” by Matthew West

What do you think?

