Day 398: Aug 2. “What do we give to God?”

Don’t many of us, especially those who claim to love God, spend our lives trying to earn his favor, affection or to pay him back for salvation? We study, memorize, serve, and smile but deep inside those outward acts are a rouse to show the world we are good or to quell a fear that if we don’t behave a certain way we’ll encounter his wrath.

Some time ago my daughter said to me, “look at all you’ve done for God, you pray and study and work every weekend at church. What has he done for you, look at your life, it’s a financial wreck. Why isn’t he helping you? Why doesn’t he find you a job or help you with money?” I responded “how can I not, there is nothing in me that blames or even wants to pull away from God. I don’t know why I just know if I don’t continue with God nothing will change.”

It did look like on the outside that God had abandoned me. To know my financial and employment situation, anyone would think God was not working in my life. Why weren’t my circumstances better? I didn’t know. Now I see it as preparation, a time to ready myself, to let go of everything so I could embark on this journey and later to fulfill his purpose in me.

God delights in us and he wants us to delight in Him. Living in favor isn’t about people or circumstances but continual love between my Father and me. Any fear of God should not make us desire to strive to perform but give us a desire within that compels us deeper into a relationship that would transform our very nature.

Has there ever been a time you believed God was truly delighted in you? For me it began when I allowed him to heal and change me, when I was willing to give up all I was doing just to be with him. Do I ever doubt this? If you’ve read many of my posts you’ll find that yes I have. But years ago I would have wallowed in my negativity – on a regular basis. We are all works of art which will not be completed until the day he returns. Oh, thank you Jesus for not letting remain as I was.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Psalm 51:10 (NIV 2011)

What do you think?

