Day 319: May 15 2010. “Who inspires you?”

Listening to the news tonight I am reminded why I’m on this journey.

  • A ninety year old great grandmother earns her masters in psychology.
  • A number of Japanese citizens who had been pulled out of school and put in concentration camps during World War II are given honorary degrees.
  • A 16 year old girl sails around the world – ALONE! She is robbed of an award because they did away with the award for young people to deter them from pursuing dangerous quests.

Who inspires me? Anyone who perseveres through life’s difficulties to fulfill a dream. I know how heart wrenching it can be to lose a dream. I’ve lost a few but I’ve also been blessed two times in my life to see a big dream come true. The first, after 17 years I not only finished my BA but also earned two masters, a PhD and taught college. Now I’m traveling the US for a year – a childhood dream I never believed would come true. When we follow the dream God puts in our heart he will see it through, no matter how long it takes.

Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

What do you think?

