Day 294: Apr 20. “Abundantly Blessed”

I am so abundantly blessed. I sit here, my last night at the Land Between the Lakes, amazed at the infinite beauty. This is what my heart has been craving. My good mood, positive attitude and sense of humor have returned, peace has been restored to my soul. As I look out at all this beauty I think I’m the richest woman in the world.

As I talked with my new friends and fellow boondockers, Bernice and Morton Foley, I realized how much I have changed, how much I’ve been through and how truly blessed I am.

I think about my life years ago. My girls and I so hungry to travel we’d go to the next county just to camp “away from home”. We were so poor and not just financially. Going it alone with two little ones sure took its toll on my heart and mind. The only relief – the only peace – was traveling, going on an adventure.

Morton said “it’s going to get cold tonight” and I shared my experiences camping through the bitter winter. I remember that weekend in October, Duluth Minnesota, 20º and snow. I was so angry with God for not letting me have a warm place to stay. Though this trip was so well planned I was ill equipped to deal the 100 year cold front. But I made it through that night, and I made it through the winter. I hadn’t originally planned to camp through the winter but my heart told me to, I wasn’t finished with this journey.

I look back at all I have gone through, the inconveniences, frustrations and tears, utter loneliness, trusting for a sink to wash my hair. Jesus has brought me through each one. He was with me all the way. It’s been my goal this past month to stay calm and trust when something fearful comes up and I am getting better. Trust is becoming a bit easier. After all that’s what this journey has been about. Live free trust God. For without trust there is no freedom.

I am thankful for all the mishaps and frustrations. Not that I’d want to go through them again, but they gave me something to laugh about, and laughter is healing to the bones. I live to laugh and to hear others laugh, even if it’s at me. I believe my friends would agree, it’s my trademark, albeit annoying at times. I’ve experienced a lifetime of reasons to laugh.

How will I endure the next mishap? I honestly don’t know. But I’m tired of going around the mountain of trust. I hope I won’t take that trip again and instead choose Jesus over worry and fear. I love you Jesus, thank you for restoring my heart and soul

Don’t be obsessed with getting more material things. Be relaxed with what you have. Since God assured us, “I’ll never let you down, never walk off and leave you,” we can boldly quote,
God is there, ready to help; I’m fearless no matter what.
Who or what can get to me?

Hebrews 13:5-6 (The Message)

What do you think?

