Day 292: Apr 18. “Darkness turns to dawn”

Sadness and frustration has given way to joy and peace and the grayness that surrounded me has been replaced with blue skies and green trees. Its resurrection – flowers and trees spring open, the sun shines again and all of creation is renewed. This is a beautiful metaphor for what Christ does in us.

The warmth of the sun is melting my frozen heart. Life is returning and my soul awakens to new possibilities. I’m in a backcountry camping area at the Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area in Kentucky. There is no shower or water, but my “room with a view” of Lake Kentucky more than makes up for it. As I look out I see new life emerging from what only a month ago seemed to be dead and gone – just like my good mood and upbeat attitude.

However, I think after autumn leaves turn brown it’s off to Florida. My heart can’t take another winter out in the lonely cold. I know there will always be something that will try and steal our joy and wound our heart, I just need to continue to look to Jesus with fresh ways to deal with life’s downers. For me, winter is my nemesis. Maybe I have Seasonal Affective Disorder and should look into light therapy?

Winter is over;
the winter rains are over, gone!
Spring flowers are in blossom all over.
The whole world’s a choir—and singing!
Spring warblers are filling the forest
with sweet arpeggios.
Lilacs are exuberantly purple and perfumed,
and cherry trees fragrant with blossoms.

Song Of Solomon 2:9-13 (The Message)

One response to “Day 292: Apr 18. “Darkness turns to dawn”

  1. yes indeed winter has that effect…take heart spring will always come! have a great day 🙂

What do you think?

