Day 286 – Apr 12 2010 – It’s Wal-Mart – Welcome home

I have come to rely on Wal-Mart as my home away from home. Every evening as I search for a place to stay it’s when I see that sign my heart leaps and shouts “I’m home!” It’s no different tonight. Who would have thought I’d get so excited about a Wal-Mart but after all these months it’s a sign of rest. I pull in the southern Wal-Mart in Bowling Green Kentucky and scan the parking lot for fellow travelers and there they are. I’m home and with friends, even though I’ve never met them.

I have found through the many months of this journey’s points of reference that keep me grounded. Little gifts from God when weariness sets in. I would like to thank the Wal-Mart Corporation for allowing travelers to use their parking lot as a dry harbor, a place to rest and restore and restock. Nearly anything you need is a short walk away. My favorite is the yummy food at the deli where I eat 3-4 times a week. Oh how I love the generals chicken. All you need Wal-Mart is to provide a Laundromat and you’d have another way to earn money and service those seeking a temporary rest.

What do you think?

