Day 256: Mar 13. “Be careful what you ask for”

Oh what a week. Monday talked to a guy who could fix my car and under budget but not until Wednesday and it would take 2-3 days to fix. Ok, so I’m here for the week with no work. I’ll deal. I go in and he can’t find what’s wrong with it and sends me elsewhere, they can’t find it but finally say it’s the computer and I’ll have to go to a dealership. The closest is 30 miles away.

So I hold up in a hotel for two days (poor me) while it’s in the shop. I’m stuck again. They can’t get to it until Friday. Come to find out, the computer didn’t fix the problem and the part isn’t returnable. But in the end its fixed and I get to stay on the “Trace” again for the weekend.

I did ask for this though. So why did I get what I asked for with my car breaking down? Over the past months I’ve lamented that while on this trip “I’ve not made any friendships, I’m alone here and I’m tired of being alone”. I realized I hadn’t stayed anywhere long enough to make friends. Had I not been stuck here for ten days I would have never known such good friends – Fran, Bruce, Fred, the Yoder’s, the girls at the courthouse, the people at the General Café and Buffalo River Coffee House. God has truly blessed me this week.

Be careful what you pray for you just might get it – just not the way you thought you would.

Be cheerful no matter what; pray all the time; thank God no matter what happens. This is the way God wants you who belong to Christ Jesus to live. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 (The Message)

What do you think?

