Day 223: Feb 8, 2010. “Safe in His arms”

If you remember my blog “Day 42, Fighting with God”, I was so angry with Him because I couldn’t find a place to stay with heat and it was going to be 20º. I ended up in a rest area in Duluth, Minnesota, a previous place of provision. But I doubted it, and I doubted God’s protection, provision, and even his love. But I did learn something that night, I can endure much more than I ever thought.

Since then I have spent many nights in 20º temps and colder, bad storms and lonely dark places, but each night God was there protecting me, keeping me safe. He didn’t abandon me that night in Minnesota and hasn’t since then. His loving protection is around me all the time. I may not see it and it may not look the way I would like it to, but it’s there all the same.

So why did he pull my security from me that frigid night in October. I’m not sure but I expect it was to teach me to trust him, that even though circumstances aren’t what I want I can live through it and he is there to keep me safe and to encourage me to trust, to teach me to lean on his love.

I wish I could encourage people to be certain and not doubt God’s love, but it’s something we must learn on our own, through our own experiences. That’s how trust is built. But how can I encourage you when I still struggle with trust myself. So often I wonder have I really learned anything. Then I remember where I was a year ago, two years, twenty years and I know He has never let me go. All I can say is to be open to God’s prompts and guiding and when you feel He’s not there, remember all he has done. Be willing to build that trust. Now to practice what I preach.

To the one who’s dreams are falling all apart
And all you’re left with is a tired and broken heart
I can tell by your eyes you think your on your own
but you’re not all alone


Have you heard of the One who can calm the raging seas
Give sight to the blind, pull the lame up to their feet
With a love so strong he’ll never let you go
oh you’re not alone


You will be safe in His arms
You will be safe in His arms
‘Cause the hands that hold the world are holding your heart
This is the promise He made
He will be with You always
When everything is falling apart
You will be safe in His arms

Phil Wickham (lyrics from “Safe”, 2009)

What do you think?

