Day 157: Dec 4. “The fight for Eden”

My heart breaks for the loss of our wilderness areas, for it is wilderness that aids in our restoration; its beauty renews our soul. If this current culture has its way all of nature would be commodified and controlled by the desires of corporations and individuals who only desire profit. No place is sacred. As we kill the wilderness we kill ourselves and our hearts.

We cannot separate our desires to preserve the trees or the birds or the wildlife, we need to preserve the wilderness in its entirety. All of nature is symbiotic including human beings. As long as we are not destroying we can live in this symbiotic relationship. We need this for the survival of our hearts.

Why do we destroy Eden? Perhaps because it reminds us all we have lost in the pursuit of civilization crowned by the possession of material goods and the accumulation of wealth. Eden may be gone but God has given us many places of restorative beauty. Places for all to enjoy, not just those of a particular status or income level.

Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul…God has cared for these trees, saved them from drought, disease, avalanches, and a thousand tempests and floods. But he cannot save them from fools.

John Muir, American naturalist & Sierra Club founder

Day 163: Dec 10. “New challenges of doubt and trust”

With so many issues to deal with on this journey, health problems are something that I have not even considered which could put a damper on my travels. For several weeks now I’ve had thyroid problems. Not only has an older cyst grown but several more cysts have developed and I’ve had problems swallowing. It is scary living with this problem on the road. I wait for the results of the blood work and scan which were done earlier this week. I’m little apprehensive as to what the results will be, but I have to admit, I’m not as worried as I would have been a few years ago. God has shown me his faithfulness time and again. My heart knows God is good and he loves me. I have confidence in knowing “all is well”.

I am pleased to see how Jesus has worked in me and how much he has freed me from myself; that all I’ve given up for the journey was not in vain, he has changed my heart and brought me closer to him.

The news…multiple cysts, no tumors or masses. Praise Jesus, but no excited relief only because I was not that worked up in the first place. This shows me your provision and care. Even though I know you take care of me and this minor problem it also feels like a warning that I need to start taking better care of myself.

You can be sure that God will take care of everything you need, his generosity exceeding even yours in the glory that pours from Jesus. Philippians 4:19 (The Message)

What do you think?

