Day 99, 10.7.09 – No room at the inn, or anywhere else

This whole week has been a challenge to trust in God’s provision. The entire northwest corner of Minnesota is desolate of civilization. No truck stops, no rest areas, no Wal-Mart and campgrounds are few and far between.

The first night I found a small city campground – with a bathroom. But there’s more…there were only a toilet and sink, no curtain in the window and no hot water. It gives cold shower a whole new meaning. There’s nothing like having frozen hair.

Next stop – Ada, Minnesota. In the entire county there are only two gas stations and one hotel with no vacancy and a park that closed at 10:00pm. No stores! This would prove to be quite a challenge. I stayed at the park until 10:00, and then moved to the hospital parking lot. Later I had go to the gas station early in the morning after I then parked on the side of the road until it was time to go to work.

In another desolate county I stayed in a park till 10:00. It had a bathroom so I could bathe and wash my hair. But like the first park, no hot water. Then I parked along some residential street until morning.

If I haven’t said it before I’m saying it again, “you haven’t trusted God until you’ve trusted him on where you’re going to lay your head…or a bathroom”.

There are spiritual fruits that come through traveling. Some we may not really want: longsuffering, self-control. Gentleness, goodness and kindness aren’t welcome much when you’re tired and don’t really care and are in no mood to be gentle, good or kind. But on the other side there is unspeakable peace, joy and faithfulness. There is overwhelming love as you allow God in. He fills you with his love then it overflows from you to others. These are the things you hang on to when things seem to be going a little less than what you’d planned.

While I have had to learn trust at a whole new level, for the simplest of conveniences we take for granted, even for my very safety and security. I have in return experienced the greatest peace, joy and love I’ve ever known. Even so, I’m looking forward to some rest and restoration in a warm hotel room.

The Lord is my shepherd; I have all that I need.
He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams.
He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name. Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me.

Psalm 23:1-4

2 responses to “Day 99, 10.7.09 – No room at the inn, or anywhere else

  1. Peace be with you dear sister.
    Sometimes we truly have to go it alone to understand the companionship of The Lord?

    • Thank you for your encouraging words, they mean much these days. I don’t know if you noticed the dates “10.7.09”. This journey actually began as a 5 month road trip with Jesus (read about page), and ended up being 23 months. God didn’t allow me to talk about or share the trip except for a few close friends until it was over, that time was for us. So now I’m posting all my journal entries and photographs. I intend to have all posted by Christmas.

      It was an incredible experience that no words can truly describe. God gave me some huge gifts along the way and moments of deep healing but even without those special moments the journey was incredible. Afterwards I experienced months of depression and now it seems so long ago. This is why I appreciate your comments; it reminds me of how awesome Jesus has been to me.

      I encourage you to keep reading, I hope you will find laughter and encouragement and there will definitely be tears. God bless you.

What do you think?

