Day 91; 9.29.09 Yellowstone National Park

Yellowstone is also a place that needed a repeat visit. Yellowstone is so large that the wildfires here didn’t dampen my spirit. I rarely saw smoke. When my girls and I visited here in 2005 we pulled up to the entrance and the clerk told us it was late and we should turn around and stay in Cody for the night and camp tomorrow. He said if we got to the campground and it was full we’d have to drive 100 miles back to Cody. I said shocked “how far is it to the closest campground?” He said “50 miles”. I was stunned, I thought “how big is this park.” All my preparation, my study, teaching about the national parks didn’t prepare me for this. I knew this park was big but 50 miles to camp was incomprehensible. I just couldn’t believe it. It’s one thing to know with your mind but to experience it first hand is another. It’s the same with the Christian experience; you can know God with your mind or your heart. When you know him from your heart you are overwhelmed by his size and strength.

We spent three days exploring and didn’t come close to hitting the biggest attractions. While Yellowstone is known for it’s geothermal features this landscape is as varied as it can get; mountains, lakes, forests, deserts and the most beautiful waterfalls. There are hundreds of them.

So this time I taking a few roads I missed last time. Be warned, these roads will take a toll on your breaks and rotors.

 

I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we only will tune in. – George Washington Carver

What do you think?

