Day 83: Sept 21. “God must be a geographer”

Got up at the crack of dawn, I wanted to spend the whole day at the parks, Arches and Canyonlands. I ran into a local man at the rest stop I stayed at and he told me of another cool place to go, the Sego Canyon pictographs at Thompson Springs. The eerie loneliness is a comfort to the soul; alone but not really alone. The memories of those who came before haunt the canyon in the form of ancient pictographs.

Arches National Park, Utah

Arches National Park was certainly a treat, what beauty unveiled. I must come back. Delicate and ancient landscapes gently carved by water and wind. It’s hard to imagine this desert place was under water at. I hiked all day, in and out of the car to the next trail. But when it came to the Devil’s Garden Trail I was completely unprepared. I only intended to hike to the Landscape Arch, not the whole 4+ miles. The route was hillier than the previous trails, not to mention is was mid-day in the desert and I didn’t think I’d be gone long enough to need water. Boy was I wrong. By the time I got back I was dehydrated and beyond exhaustion. I was saving myself for the hike to Delicate Arch, the one I had longed to see, but I couldn’t make the hike and had to settle for a distant view. I will come back and complete the hikes I missed and get the close-up of Delicate Arch.

Well, its late afternoon and I need to go to Canyonlands National Park before sunset. I’m only 30 miles away and would regret not going. So exhausted I begin the drive through the park marveling at the wondrous sculpted landscape which was also carved by water but vastly different than Arches. No hiking this time. I could barely get out of the van to photograph the landscape. As the sun set my body was slowly setting too. I found a truck stop and crashed at about 8:30 – PM not AM if you can believe that of this night owl.

“…our geography exists only in the instant in which we descend upon it, on our two feet.” Cees Nooteboom, Nomads hotel

All the earth belongs to the Lord; go climb Mount God… Psalm 24:1-3, paraphrased from The Message

What do you think?

