Day 80: Sept 18. “Watch out, the enemy will steal your joy… and anything else he can get”

After work in Craig, Colorado I head out on a 90 mile highway of desolation on the way to see the waterfalls of my dreams. Nearly half way into it I get a flat tire. I must have looked like a dork walking up and down the middle of the road, holding my phone up to the sky as pleading with the gods to let my call thru to AAA. Praise to Jesus for sending me a car load of helpers from Philadelphia, the city of brotherly love. Ironic? The driver changed my tire as the ladies and I chatted about our trips.

I went back to Craig because I knew they had a Wal-Mart. When I got there I found there was no auto repair department and everyplace else is closed. Then at 10 till 6 I find a place, and guy wasn’t happy to replace my tire at such a late time. He quoted me an exorbitant amount and I didn’t flinch as I said “fix it”. They were still closing up the store when I left, not like he could have gone home earlier. I was determined. I was not going to stay in this town another night. I had waterfalls to see.

I could have turned back into Wyoming. The disappointment of not getting to the falls tonight and meeting a joy-stealing tire salesman did make me question for a minute “did I really want to go that far and use that much gas”? The minute passed and I set out with determination to see the dream God planted in my heart. The enemy isn’t going to steal this from me.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full. John 10:10 (NIV)

This is a sacred day before our lord. Don’t be dejected and sad, for the joy of the LORD is your strength. Nehemiah 8:10 (NLT)

What do you think?

