Day 77; 9.15.09 Devils Tower National Monument, WY

I’ve been lucky to visit this piece of rock twice in my life. I’ve had a strong interest in Devil’s Tower since the late 70s thanks to Steven Spielberg and a little movie called “Close encounters of the third kind”.  Before I left on my journey, my dear friend Margie and I watched the movie and she got a kick out of the protagonist sculpting mashed potatoes in the shape of the tower. So, as I was searching for the perfect t-shirt for her I saw one. It had a man sculpting the tower and from the window behind him was Devil’s Tower. The caption “It just came to me”. I knew she’d get a kick out of that.

This ominous tower is more than a tourist attraction hyped by media. It is a geologic wonder and it is sacred to many native tribes and to me. I can’t help feeling a sense of something when I’m there. Please be respectful of others, it is still a place of worship to many.

“Nature teaches more than she preaches. There are no sermons in stones. It is easier to get a spark out of a stone than a moral.”           – John Burroughs

What do you think?

