Day 73: Sept 11. “Work, Work, Work”

You may notice there’s not much about God or revealed beauty this week. I’m reminded of my waterfall dream. The enemy will use many tactics to detour us from our mission, our dreams, from our intended journey; whatever it will take to destroy the soul. He knows where we are weak.

In my dream there were three attempts to reach the waterfalls; each represented the three main ways the enemy uses to get me off track.

  • Obstacle 1 FEAR: I had to overcome many fears and      learn to trust God; to just embark on this trip.
  • Obstacle 2 SELF-RELIANCE: Walking away from Jesus.      Worrying about my safety, where to sleep – that’s not trusting. That’s      depending on my own way of providing for my needs.
  • Obstacle 3 BUSYNESS: Work, work, work. I confess I      am a workaholic. Busy with work makes it easy for me to hide from      relationships, hide from life and hide from Jesus. Once I start it’s hard      to stop, even when I don’t want to.

This whole week has been busy beyond belief. I’d almost wondered why I was here. This wasn’t the journey of freedom; there was no beauty of God unveiling.

Work can become a consuming fire and if we let it, our busyness will devour us.

Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing. – Harriet Braiker

At least at the end of the week there was a waterfall.

Osceola, Wisconsin

Cascade Falls, Osceola Wisconsin

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. 1 Peter 5:8 (NLT)

What do you think?

