Day 72: Sept 10. “Go West Doesn’t Mean ‘West Virginia’”

I have been traveling and doing this research for a couple of months now and before I finally ventured west there was some frustration, and unsettle feeling as if I wasn’t where I was supposed to be. So much went wrong. Records not indexed properly, or computers, flat tires, getting lost, motherboards crashing – YIKES.

I am astonished at how smooth this leg of my journey has gone. I finally obeyed God. Seven months ago God told me to go west. We spent months preparing for this part of my Jubilee Journey and when it came down to it – I got scared. So many problems and fears, what would I encounter out in the wilderness? Black bears, car problems, impossible road conditions, grizzly bears, loneliness, depression, oh and did I mention the bears? The longer I waited the more anxious and frustrated I got. God told me to go west so I went to western Kentucky, then southwestern Illinois, then finally West Virginia. I was not truly obeying Him.

It is so amazing when we obey the Holy Spirit how much easier life is. This isn’t to say we’ll have a problem-free life and I am still dealing with the trust issue. The biggest trust issue is where I will sleep at night. To make this trip I have to scrimp wherever I can. That means – no hotel, no campgrounds, no hot food and no hot showers for most of the trip. So I look for truck stops, rest stops, wayside parks, Wal-Mart’s, even hospitals and apartment parking lots. Any out of the way place I think of that I won’t be asked to leave. That does get a little stressful.

But this trip is NOT just about enjoying the presence of God, but developing a greater trust in his provision.

God’s Kingdom isn’t a matter of what you put in your stomach (or where you sleep), for goodness’ sake. It’s what God does with your life as he set is right, puts it together, and completes it with joy. Romans 14:17 (The Message)

What do you think?

