Day 69: Sept 7. “When God says “Not now” it doesn’t mean never”

After pondering for days what to do this Labor Day weekend I find myself back in Bayfield, Wisconsin to take a cruise through the Apostle Island National Park, a gift from Jesus. I saw the sign for the cruise last week and thought “I probably won’t be back, but it would be nice to take that boat ride”

If you remember I asked God Friday if he wanted me to go here and he said maybe. Now days later he gives it to me – a gift of His love. And now here I am headed for the Wisconsin coast. Yes Wisconsin has a coast, be it small.

So much fog this morning, Lake Superior is hardly visible. I wondered if a boat ride on the Lake would be a good idea. However, the fog lifted and a beautiful day emerged. Out I go on a lighthouse cruise around Apostle Bay.

Well, if often find things to complain about. I was told I would see 3 to 5 lighthouses. Now towards the end of the ride we finally see one. In my mind I’m thinking, “what a bummer, I should complain, where’s my lighthouses”. Then God says, “You didn’t ask for lighthouses, your heart’s desire was to be back on the water, the light house was a bonus. Stop complaining”. Oh, I’ve been slammed. “You are so right Jesus. Forgive me. This has been a wonderful trip. Thank You.”

Now the day is over and I’m on my way to my next destination in the central part of Wisconsin, away from the great lake. My heart is saddened. This place is so beautiful and my heart longs to stay. But I know Jesus has more for me so I go. I think what makes it so special is how it reminds me of home, of Cape Cod & Florida. I can’t count how many times I thought I smelled salt in the air.

On my way to Polk County, I stop at a hotel and the owner, Dave, a kindred spirit, having once been possessed by the wanderlust as I am now, shared stories of the places he’d traveled. If you ever read this blog Dave, thank you.

But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. Isaiah 40:31

What do you think?

