Day 62: Aug 31. “Destination: Whitefish Point, MI – AGAIN”

Well it happened again – detours and delays. I didn’t sleep much my first night roughing it. The fear of bears kept me awake most of the night. I eventually had to nap for a half hour which turned into 3. With a 5-hour drive ahead of me I thought “ok God – no work today, what do you want to do?”

Having read such books by John Eldredge’s as Captivating, The Sacred Romance and Desire I have come to embrace a love relationship with Jesus. This trip is all about being with him and letting him romance me. And what a day!

First, if I had arrived at Whitefish Point last night I would have missed the most amazing sunrise over a white sandy beach and beautiful Whitefish Bay.

And then there were the falls…

  • Tahquamenon Lower Falls
  • Tahquamenon      Upper Falls
  • Cascade      Falls
  • Jacob’s      Falls
  • Eagle River      Falls

…and Eagle Harbor Lighthouse.

As I drove to the Northern most point in Michigan, the Keweenaw Peninsula, the whole way saying to myself “I can’t believe I’m here”. I’ve wanted to drive up here for such a long time but never thought I would. You know – time and money got in my way. This certainly wasn’t in the plan but I’m sure glad I’ve made room for my plans to change.

To complete this wonderful day I settled in for the evening at a little wayside park a few feet from Lake Superior along the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. That’s the UP if you’re a native. This place is more beautiful than I imagined.

Be open to Jesus’ promptings and he will romance your heart.

“…don’t you think He’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you?…[don’t] be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.” Matthew 6:30,33 (The Message)

What do you think?

