Day 61: Aug 30. “Destination: Whitefish Point, MI”

I intended to reach Whitefish Point, Michigan on my first day. This is the Place where you’ll find the monument for the Edmund Fitzgerald. You remember the song by Gordon Lightfoot? But along the way I was enticed by a sign that read “Canadian border 54 miles”. I’ve not been to this part of Canada before and I thought that seeing the sun setting over Lake Superior would be cool. I asked God and he said “go for it”. And so it was a beautiful sunset.

Sunset

Ok, I didn’t make it to Whitefish as God said “sunset in Ontario”. Well as you can see this trip is not set in stone. No destination is unchangeable.

So I’m off to an interesting start – a major detour on my first day driving. But that is what this trip is about – following Christ and trusting him for everything. I have my plans but I need to stay open to where he leads.

Moral of the story: keep close to Jesus, follow him closely, because you never know when or where to road may change. If we aren’t following closely we may take a detour we don’t want.

“A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.” Proverbs 16:9 (NIV)

What do you think?

