Day 60: Aug 29. “Stopped a Green Light”

Stopped at a green light? You might think “who stops at a green light?” Well I do or at least I did last night on my way to Melanie’s. I came upon an intersection I’ve crossed hundreds of times – 38th & Columbus. But this time I pulled up to the light and stopped. There was unusually little traffic, even the few cars in the other lanes weren’t moving very fast (because they were stopped). Reflecting upon my upcoming trip I noticed a car pull up beside me. I turned and saw the light turn yellow. My first thought? “I didn’t just stop and sit at this green light – did I?” Yup I did. I’ll bet those around me were as dumbfounded as I was.

So what happened? Is this the onset of Alzheimer’s? No, I believe it was a combination of distraction & habit. My thoughts were on my trip and as for habit – I can’t remember that light ever being green. I’ve always stopped at that light.

Isn’t this how we react to life in general and how we respond to God? When something out of the ordinary happens or we’re asked to do something we fear we respond by stopping, camping out wherever we are on our journey. We become frozen with distraction or fear.

God tells us to go – do something – whether it is to start a bible study, babysit for a single mom, leave a big tip for your regular waitress, get alone with Him or set out on the journey of a lifetime – just you and Him. He expects us to just do it – to go!

But we stop. Our daily distractions and habits keep us from stepping out and doing what He asks of us. When we do choose to go, the light turns green and God is there riding along with us, enjoying the journey and bringing us the blessing of his peace.

The next time you come to a green light think about what God is asking you to do and where to go. We may not always know for sure where God is leading. Just step out and he will be there to help you take the next step. I don’t know all the details of my journey; where, how, or even why. I only know I must step out and do this because God has asked me to.

Tomorrow I go west….

Even if you are on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there! – Will Rogers

“By an act of faith, Abraham said yes to God’s call to travel to an unknown place that would become his home. When he left he had no idea where he was going.”

Hebrews 11:8 (The Message)

What do you think?

