How to Live Determined

Why don’t some people demonstrate the character of determination? Possibly laziness, selfishness, passiveness, “free-spirited”, lacking direction in your life or a lack of faith in what God can do through them?

But there are benefits to living with determination such as being able to complete tasks on time, being a person others can count on and being the person God planned for you to be and fulfilling His plan for you.

What can we do to live with more determination?

  • Think on what God had called you to. For me I’m called to care for my adult daughters and grandson, I’m called to raise him to be a man after His heart, I’m called to teach and train him. I’m called to devote time to Jesus, my classes and Jubilee Journey. Think on what you need to do to accomplish what God has called you to.
  • Spend time in prayer; seek the advice of the Holy Spirit in how to accomplish your callings. Ask for wisdom and you will receive. Wisdom to know what to do and when and to know when you’re trying to do too much.
  • Change your mindset from I’ll try to I will. The “I try’s” will give you a way out and make it easy to not finish what you start, easier to give up.

Attitude Challenge

Challenge yourself this week to find ways to be more determined then share with the rest of us what you’ve learned so we can learn too.

What other bloggers say about determination and persevere

Can’t Stop You at Think Positive, Be Positive. Great quote on determination. After you read this one check out the rest of their site, there’s lots on positive thinking and determination.
Divine Direction at Prayers and Promises. Before we can be determined we need to know what to be determined for, we need direction. Diana offers great advice for finding God’s direction in your life.
Blessed be the name of the Lord by Charlene Woodlee. Charlene offers the example of Job to help us persevere.

Books on Determination

Daily Dose of Determination by Melanie Bonita
Never Give Up by Joyce Meyer
Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela
Determination, Perseverance and Greatness by Kevin Johnson

Bible verses to encourage you to live more determined.

ESV 1 Corinthians 9:24-27 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.
ESV James 1:22 Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.
ESV Romans 5:3-5 More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.
ESV Galatians 6:9 And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.
ESV 2 Timothy 2:12 If we endure, we will also reign with him; if we deny him, he also will deny us;
ESV 2 Thessalonians 3:13 As for you, brothers, do not grow weary in doing good.
ESV James 1:2-4 Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.
ESV Ephesians 6:18 Praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints,
ESV Philippians 1:6 And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.
NIV Isaiah 40:31 But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.
ESV Philippians 4:12-13 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.
NIV Ephesians 6:10-18 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand firm. Stand therefore, having fastened on the belt of truth, and having put on the breastplate of righteousness,
NIV Matthew 7:7-8 Ask, Seek, Knock. Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.

 

Next Week: Parable of Persistence

4 thoughts on “How to Live Determined

  1. Ana, great words of encouragement. I pray each day that He will guide me in all I do. That what I write are His words and accomplish His will, not mine. I sometimes find myself wondering who the message reaches. Does it really make a difference. This is when my faith must kick in allowing continuance of the endeavor. Bless you for all you do.

    • I understand, I too write the words he guides me to write. I wonder often if anyone is being encouraged or learns something that will help in their walk with Jesus but even if just one person is blessed that’s one person walking closer with Jesus. Thank you for visiting and your encouraging comment.

  2. Pingback: A Determined, Persevering Attitude | Jubilee Journey

What do you think?

